Click to view

2017 NFHS Rule Changes

Click to view

Click to view

TRUE or FALSE

2017 NFHS Football Test - Part I      

            

Question:          

The NFHS disapproves of any form of taunting that is intended or designed to embarrass, ridicule or 

demean others under any circumstances.       

TRUE           

Explanation          

9-5-la NOTE, 9-8-la NOTE         

            

Question :          

Football gloves are required to meet either the new SFIA specification or the existing NOCSAE  

standard at the time of manufacture.       

TRUE           

Explanation          

1-5 NOTE, 1-5-2b          

            

Question :          

The referee shall have the authority to correct the number of the next down prior to the ball becoming 

live after a new series of downs is awarded and prior to the declaration of the end of any period. 

TRUE      

     

Explanation           

5-1-1 b           

            

Question :          

No player or non-player shall make any other contact with an opponent, including a defenseless  

player, which is deemed unnecessary or excessive and which incites roughness.   

TRUE       

    

Explanation          

9-4-3g           

            

Question :          

A fumble is the touching of a loose ball by a player in an unsuccessful attempt to secure possession.

FALSE       

    

Explanation          

2-18, 2-27          

            

Question :          

A forward pass has gone beyond the neutral zone if at any time during the pass, some part of the ball 

is beyond the neutral zone.        

False      

      

Explanation          

2-31-3           

            

Question           

At the time the ball is kicked, at least four K players must be on each side of the kicker.  

TRUE       

    

Explanation           

6-1-4           

            

Question :          

An unofficial auxiliary down indicator may be used, but it must be operated approximately 2 yards  

outside the sideline (except in stadiums where the total playing enclosure does not permit) opposite 

the official line-to-gain and down indicators.       

TRUE           

Explanation           

1-3-5c           

            

Question :          

Ball-colored helmets are legal player equipment.      

FALSE      

     

Explanation          

1-5-3c(1)          

            

Question :          

Defensive players are restricted from contacting the ball or the snappers hand(s) or arm(s) until the 

snapper has released the ball.        

TRUE           

Explanation           

7-1-6           

            

Question :          

A back may not wear a jersey with a number 50 through 79.     

FALSE          

 

Explanation          

1-4-3, 2-32-3          

            

Question :          

A player in the act of or just after throwing a pass, is not considered a defenseless player.  

FALSE         

  

Explanation          

2-32-16           

            

Question :          

If a double foul occurs during a down in which time expires, the period is ended.   

FALSE       

    

Explanation           

3-3-3b           

            

Question :          

The period shall be extended if, during a down in which time expires, B1 commits an unsportsmanlike 

foul and the penalty is accepted.        

FALSE     

      

Explanation          

3-3-4b           

            

Question :           

A pop-up kick is a free kick in which the kicker drives the ball immediately into the ground, the ball  

strikes the ground once and goes into the air in the manner of a ball kicked directly off the tee. 

TRUE  

         

Explanation          

2-24-10, 6-1-11, 6-1 PENALTY        

            

Question :          

If a low scrimmage kick is touched by R1 in the neutral zone, kick-catching interference restrictions 

have ended and no fair catch can be made.       

FALSE    

       

Explanation          

6-5-6           

            

Question :          

It is a field goal even if part of the ball passes through the line of the upright extended.  

FALSE      

     

Explanation          

8-4-1c           

            

Question :          

No player or non-player shall execute a blindside block outside of the free-blocking zone with forceful 

contact unless initiated with open hands.       

TRUE          

 

Explanation          

9-4-3n           

            

Question :          

If K1's field-goal attempt deflects off K2's shoulder while he is in the expanded neutral zone, no goal 

is scored even if the ball passes between the uprights and above the crossbar.   

FALSE         

  

Explanation           

8-4-1 b           

            

Question :          

A backward pass is a pass thrown with its initial direction parallel with or toward the runner's end line.

True        

    

Explanation          

2-31-5           

            

Question :          

A pass thrown backward out of bounds to stop the clock is an illegal pass.   

FALSE       

    

Explanation           

7-5-2           

            

Question :          

A backward pass out of bounds is an illegal pass.      

FALSE           

Explanation          

7-4-3, 7-5-2          

            

Question :           

An attempt by B to interfere with A's signals prior to the snap is a live-ball foul.   

FALSE           

Explanation          

9-5-1d, 9-5 PENALTY         

            

Question :          

A free kick which goes out of bounds belongs to the kicking team.    

FALSE       

    

Explanation          

6-1-9, 6-1-10          

            

Question :          

A dead ball may become live only by a legal snap or free kick.     

TRUE         

  

Explanation          

FUNDAMENTAL III-3         

            

Question :          

Following a change of possession, if an inadvertent whistle is sounded, the down must be replayed.

FALSE         

  

Explanation           

4-2-3b           

            

Question :          

A coach who has been disqualified may not have further direct or indirect contact with his/her team  

during the remainder of the game.        

TRUE   

        

Explanation          

9-8 PENALTY          

            

Question :          

If touching causes the ball to become dead, securing possession of the ball has no significance. 

TRUE       

    

Explanation          

FUNDAMENTAL III-4         

            

Question :          

A scrimmage kick recovered in or behind the neutral zone may not be advanced by K or R.  

FALSE           

Explanation          

FUNDAMENTAL VI-2          

            

Question :          

It is not a foul if Al immediately returns to the field and makes a block after being blocked or pushed 

out of bounds by Bl.         

TRUE           

Explanation          

9-6-1           

            

Question :          

It is recommended that goal lines be marked in a color that contrasts with other field markings. 

TRUE           

Explanation          

1-2-3g NOTE 2          

            

Question :          

The referee is the final judge as to the legality of the ball.     

TRUE           

Explanation          

1-3-3           

            

Question :          

Possession of a live ball in the opponent's end zone is always a safety.    

FALSE        

   

Explanation           

8-2-1           

            

Question :          

It is a safety if Al retreats into A's end zone and fumbles the ball beyond the end line.  

TRUE          

 

Explanation          

8-5-2b           

            

Question :          

A scrimmage kick recovered in or behind the neutral zone may be advanced by K or R, unless it is  

during a try.          

TRUE           

Explanation          

FUNDAMENTAL VI-2         

            

Question :          

Effective 2021, the jerseys of the home team shall be a dark color that clearly contrasts to white. 

TRUE   

        

Explanation           

1-5-1b(3)          

            

Question :          

An official's time-out can be called for unusual heat or humidity situations.   

TRUE    

       

Explanation          

3-5-7g           

            

Question :          

After the ball becomes dead and it appears that the ball may have reached the line-to-gain, the  

covering official shall stop the clock.       

TRUE    

       

Explanation          

3-5-7a, b; 3-5-9          

            

Question :          

After the ball goes out of bounds, the clock always starts with the ready-for-play.   

FALSE 

          

Explanation          

3-4-3a           

            

Question :          

Member state associations may determine the game official who is to accompany the referee during 

the required pre-game meeting with each head coach.     

TRUE    

       

Explanation          

1-5-1a(2) NOTE, 1-5-4         

            

Question :          

If a free kick is repeated due to a foul, the clock shall start when the free kick is touched, other than 

first touching by K.         

TRUE       

    

Explanation           

3-4-3           

            

Question :          

A football jersey must completely cover the shoulder pads and all pads worn above the waist on the 

torso.           

TRUE        

   

Explanation          

1-5-1b(1)          

            

Question:          

It is a touchdown for A if Al fumbles into B's end zone and A2 is the last to touch the ball prior to its  

going out of bounds beyond the end line.       

FALSE

           

Explanation           

8-5-3c           

            

Question :          

If a touchdown is scored during the last down of the fourth period, the try shall not be attempted  

unless the point(s) would affect the outcome of the game or playoff qualifying.   

TRUE    

       

Explanation          

8-3-1 EXCEPTION         

            

Question :          

First touching applies to K only.        

TRUE     

      

Explanation          

6-1-6, 6-2-5          

            

Question :          

A block against an opponent, other than the runner, who does not see the blocker approaching is: 

a. Blindside Block         

b. Spearing          

c. Chop Block          

d. Interlocked Blocking

          

Explanation          

2-3-10           

            

Question :          

After a team has used its permissible charged time-outs for the half, any subsequent request shall be 

denied unless it is for:         

a. Necessary repair to player equipment except as in 3-5-10d.     

b. An apparently injured player who is so designated when the request is made.   

c. The review of a possible misapplication or misinterpretation of a rule.

d. Any of the above.   

     

Explanation          

3-5-5           

            

Question :          

A defensive player shall not:        

a. Contact an eligible receiver who is no longer a potential blocker.    

b. Use his hands or arms to hook, lock, clamp, grasp, encircle or hold in an effort to restrain an  

opponent other than the runner.               

c. Use his hands to add momentum to the charge of a teammate who is on the line of scrimmage.  

d. Any of the above.   

Explanation          

9-2-3           

            

Question :          

The enforcement spot for any foul by the defense is the when the run ends in the  

end zone and would result in a safety.       

a.3-yard line          

b.10-yard line          

c.5-yard line          

d. goal line           

Explanation           

10-5-2           

            

Question:          

No player or non-player shall:        

a. Throw a helmet to trip an opponent.             

b. Initiate illegal helmet contact.        

c. Hurdle an opponent.   

d. Any of the above.         

e. None of the above.

       

Explanation          

9-4-3